Govs Hogan, McAuliffe Win “Champions of the Chesapeake.”


ANNAPOLIS, Md. (WMAL) — The Chesapeake Bay Conservancy has named Maryland Governor Larry Hogan and Virginia Governor Terry McAuliffe 2017 “Champions of the Chesapeake.”

According to the Chesapeake Conservancy, Hogan received the award due to the money and legislative support the Governor has given to protect the Chesapeake.

Governor McAuliffe was granted the title for securing funding for the conservation of land across the bay and “his successful protection of 1,000 natural and historic Virginia treasures,” according to a press release from his office.

McAullife said that the Chesapeake Bay “has been one of [his] administration’s top priorities.”

CEO and President of the Chesapeake Conservancy Joel Dunn said that the award “recognizes extraordinary leaders from across the Chesapeake for their significant and exemplary accomplishments that protect and restore our natural systems and cultural resources.”

Dunn also points out that the awardees and their work show that the Chesapeake is bipartisan priority.

Copyright 2017 by All Rights Reserved. (Photo: MD Governor’s office/CNN)

Missed a Show? Listen Here


Local Weather