D.C. Joins ‘XFL’ in 2020

Maria Leaf

WASHINGTON– D.C. has a new sports franchise.

The “D.C. Defenders” have been announced as one of eight teams for the XFL. That’s the league owned by the WWE’s Vince McMahon.

The Defenders will play at Audi Field starting in February.

Other teams in the XFL include The Los Angeles Wildcats, New York Guardians, Dallas Renegades, Houston Roughnecks, St. Louis BattleHawks, Seattle Dragons and Tampa Bay Vipers.

The XFL previously existed for one season in 2001. In 2017 it was announced that the league was being brought back.

No word yet when tickets will go on sale for games.

Copyright 2019 by WMAL.com. All Rights Reserved. PHOTO: XFL/Twitter


Local Weather